Memory man?

So it turns out it probably is my age. πŸ˜”

It would appear that I published this post on Wednesday, when I saved my first draft, or so I thought. If you’ve been getting emails every time I edit, I can’t apologise enough. I can’t think of any plausible excuse for this momentary lapse in cognition, so I may as well come clean, put my hand in the air and admit it. I’m a donkey.

IMG_0763.JPG

What makes it all the more hilarious is how I started the post, which I will leave in, in its entirety so that you can see how classically stoopid I am. Well, if you can’t laugh at yourself, as they always say. So here you go.

I don’t know if it’s my age, or just that I’m always on the go, playing around with mini me all day, and then going off to work and looking after a whole bunch of grow up children, while they slowly slip into inebriation six days a week.

I am finding that there seems to be a lot of memories that I have forgotten over the last two years. (Yes. Thank you all that have just said “it’s your age you old git”). Don’t get me wrong, all the key moments are firmly imbedded in the old grey matter. The birth, at St. Michael’s hospital during the morning shift change. (Having twice as many people in the O-R as normal is a little unnerving to say the least). The first time he called me ‘daddy’, or when he took his first steps, whilst holding on to my pinkies to name but a few.

It’s the little stuff, that seems to elude. The following list is just an example of some of the things I have forgotten.

IMG_0759.JPG

Well, I have forgotten them 😝

It’s precisely for this reason that I started this blog. As far as memory serves, I decided I would write about life with my little bundle of joy, when my wife was twelve weeks pregnant, because I wanted to capture every moment, so that as my memory faded, I would still have an account of how I felt about the key moments in this precious life. I had even come up with the name, ‘Night of the Living Dad’. It’s was only after JB was born, that I realised I didn’t have the time or energy to write, and I wouldn’t write for the best part of two years.

When I came back to the idea, and actually started writing, the name got its tweak, with the creation of the tag line, and the rest as they say is history. Who are ‘they,’ that’s what I want to know? They keep saying things like ‘If you can’t laugh at yourself’ and ‘the rest is history’, but I still don’t know who “they” are. Even Google couldn’t help!

Still, now I can keep on top of these wonderful milestones and share them with you all, cerebrum willing. I hope you enjoy them as much as me, and I hope it brings back some happy memories of your own children as they grew. (Unless you’re as scatty as I appear to be). Or if you are planning to start a family, I hope it gives you some insight into, not only how exhausting it is, but how beautiful and rewarding it is becoming a parent.

Now, who am I?

What was I doing?

Hatstand…

Best leave it at that, eh?

Be dobby, smeck grimly, and skvat jeezny by the sharries droogs!

2 thoughts on “Memory man?

  1. You are getting old so your memory is being challenged πŸ˜‰
    It’s so great you’ve found the time to record your memories. Continue to write and funny moments, the achievements that you both attain as father and son but also the special times when you notice the little quirks that make JB so very special xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

