Mental Health Awareness Week II

As some of you are aware, on Monday I posted the facts and figures for Mental Health Awareness Week, and all this week I have been reading, and sharing some of the stories on Twitter under the hashtag #MentalHealthAwarenessWeek.

If I may I’d like to take a moment to share with you a few that have moved me.

First we have Living With Anxiety and Depression from Sophie Leigh. It shows us how incapacitating it can be to suffer with anxiety.

The second, by John Hatton, is an account from somebody that tried to help his best friend. Everyone Has a Private Battle… moved me very much, as I too have lost a dear friend to suicide.

Finally this beautiful piece from Imogen Walters A Story Marked On Skin gives us an insight into her world of self harm.

Take a moment to read some of the hundreds of stories out there. Let’s show people they don’t need to suffer alone, that we are here to help, even if it’s only to lend an ear, or a shoulder to cry upon. Let’s remove the stigma surrounding mental health issues, because one day we may need help to. 

Here in Part III I discuss postnatal depression and it’s effects, and fellas, we can suffer with this as well!

  

When the Dust Settles
3 thoughts on “Mental Health Awareness Week II

  1. Mental health awareness is incredibly important (it’s why I am running a one off linky about it this week – to try and promote a few peoples stories, my own included).

    Sadly, for me, not enough men talk openly about suffering, which is presumably why suicide rates in men are so much higher.

    Like

Leave a Reply

